I wasn’t planning on starting to post here until I actually got to Italy, but I made these pancakes, and they won’t be denied or ignored. They are called cinnamon roll pancakes, and they just seem more justifiable as a breakfast food than straight up cinnamon rolls. I didn’t have a lot of time (I was really hungry), so I cheated and used Bisquick for the pancake base, but you can pretty much use any pancake recipe. Or use Bisquick – this is a judgment-free zone.

There is a recipe for a glaze that goes with these pancakes, but I think that getting glaze involved would be pushing the “acceptable breakfast” envelope a little too much. Anyways, the pancakes are delicious enough with absolutely nothing to top them off (they do have swirls of cinnamon, butter and brown sugar after all) but I’m not the boss of you. I’m going to give you the glaze recipe, and then I will look the other way. Make the pancakes. Make the glaze. Make me proud.

For the pancakes, use whatever basic pancake recipe you like, or use a mix!

For the filling (adapted from Recipe Girl):

  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

Combine all three ingredients thoroughly, then scoop mixture into a Ziploc bag. After pouring pancake batter onto skillet, snip off a corner of the bag, and pipe filling in a swirl pattern onto pancake. When bubbles appear on pancake, flip and cook until golden brown.

For the glaze (also from Recipe Girl):

  • 4 Tbsp. butter
  • 2 oz. cream cheese
  • 3/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract


