This past Thursday was my mom’s birthday, so I was going back and forth trying to decide upon which dessert to unleash my oven mitts. My decision was made a lot easier when my mom requested chocolate chip cookies with walnuts. So then it was settled. Such is the power of a birthday girl.

Honestly, I don’t think you can call something a “birthday dessert” unless it can be sliced. Cakes, of course, fit this criterion. Pies and tarts are fair game too. Regardless,  requests trump rules, and that is how the birthday chocolate chip walnut cookies were born.

Like any other baker, I’ve searched long and hard for the perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe. I’ve looked all over the internet, I’ve looked on the back of the chocolate chip bag, and I’ve stood in Borders and browsed through cookbooks, all to find a cookie that’s not too salty, not too sweet, not too chewy, not too crispy. Not too picky, right?

This is my favorite recipe so far. Like so many other delicious recipes, it comes from Deb at Smitten Kitchen. My only modifications were to slightly decrease the amount of chocolate chips, and to add walnuts. Other than that, I’m not messing with it. “If it ain’t broke” and all that.

For the recipe, head on over to Smitten Kitchen

