There are too many people I like who were born in June. My spatula has grown weary, and the oven is threatening to revolt. No. More. Birthdays.

These pictures are decidedly sub-par, even for my less-than-stellar photography skills. Some days you just can’t make things look good. But when those things are covered in chocolate ganache and filled with raspberries and soooo shiny, you eventually have to put down the camera and pick up a fork. My limited sense of coordination makes it impossible to do both at once.

This cake is for a Nice Boy. He likes chocolate and raspberries, so he wasn’t too surprised to be presented with a chocolate cake filled with raspberries and topped with more chocolate (and more raspberries).

I confess to using box cake mix for this cake. I’m not sorry – I think box cake mixes are great, especially if you doctor them up a bit. For this cake, instead of adding water, I added milk (buttermilk is also a popular substitution). I also grated a couple ounces of semi-sweet baking chocolate into the batter, to make it extra chocolate-y. Due to poor planning and estimation, one of those cake layers is regular chocolate cake, and one is German chocolate cake. Calm down, it was fine. For the filling, I warmed chopped fresh raspberries in a saucepan with a little bit of this amazing jam I found in my fridge:

I filled the cake with the raspberries, and topped it with homemade ganache, stuck more raspberries on top, scowled at the mess in the kitchen, and that was that.

For the cake, use whatever chocolate cake recipe you can find, or use a box!

Raspberry Filling Recipe 

  • 1 box fresh raspberries
  • 2 Tbsp. Baco Noir jelly

Chop the raspberries into small pieces, then add to a saucepan along with jelly. Heat over a low flame for 2-3 minutes until jelly is melted and mixture is slightly warm. Remove from heat and spread over bottom layer of cake.

Add top layer of cake. Prepare ganache.

Ganache Recipe

  • 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips
  • 1 cup heavy cream

Melt chocolate chips and heavy cream together in a double boiler until chocolate is thoroughly melted. Pour mixture over cake and spread to ensure that entire cake is covered. Top with fresh raspberries if desired.

