I am finally here!!! I got here two days ago, and am all settled into my wonderful apartment, and starting to find my way around Rome. My Italian language skills are rudimentary at best, but so far I have been able to get by. I’ve also realized that my dad’s Hindi is a much more powerful tool here than my Italian – every vendor we have come across thus far has hailed from the Subcontinent. The big market, which is right near my apartment, is called the Campo di Fiori, and it is just full of my countrymen (or neighbors of my countrymen, rather) selling their authentic Italian spice blends and produce proudly.

I haven’t had a chance to take too many pictures yet, so I’ll just post a couple and get more on here soon!

Tomatoes and other vegetables for sale at the Campo di Fiori!

One of the many street artists on the Piazza Santa Maria in Trastevere

Delicious tiramisu from Galeassi in Trastevere

I will post more soon!

